jump to navigation

This is it! I’m running for Job! March 24, 2011

Posted by escapingalcatraztri in Pledge, Running for Job.
Tags: , , , ,
trackback

Thank you so much for finding your way to this site. My name is Mara Guevara. I’m an Architect by day and wannabe triathlete at night. I’ll be celebrating my twenty-sixth (26th) birthday this 08 May 2011. This year, I’ve decided to hold a benefit run for Job Tyrese.

Job Tyrese is a nine month old baby who was born with Biliary Atresia – a fatal, serious and rare liver disease that affects 1 in 15,000 newborn infants. His liver does not have bile ducts which are supposed to help the liver drain out bile to pass it to the intestines for proper food digestion. This disease is destroying his liver. He has yellowish eyes and skin (jaundice) and his stomach is noticeably bigger than normal babies’.  When he was two months old, he underwent a Kasai procedure. This procedure temporarily provides a passageway for his liver. Unfortunately, the procedure was a failure. His only option at this point is a liver transplant which costs approximately Php 3 million.

Job’s parents are newlyweds who work as nurses and only make enough money for daily expenses and medications. They started a blog(http://www.hopeforjob.blogspot.com) to raise funds for their son’s liver transplant, and this is where my birthday project begins.

On 15 May 2011, I commit to running as many kilometers as I can for three hours in an effort to raise funds for Baby Job’s liver transplant. I will be accepting pledges in two ways:

  1. You can pledge a certain amount for each kilometer that I complete. Minimum pledge is a measly Php 10 per kilometer. So if I finish twenty five (25) kilometers in three hours, you would have pledged Php 250 for Job’s cause.
  2. You can pledge a fixed amount regardless of how many kilometers I finish. Minimum fixed pledge is Php 250.
  • The amounts stated above are the minimum. If you wish to pledge a higher amount, then that is most welcome.

As this is a benefit run, I am minimizing expenses by providing for my own hydration needs. There will be no aid stations, kilometer markers, free singlet, medal, or other luxuries provided in other runs. My only aid station will be my car. I will provide for my own electrolyte drinks, salt tabs and energy gels. All you have to do is pledge for Job.

For those of you that run, feel free to accompany me so I don’t get bored. HeHeHe. You can run with me for one kilometer, ten kilometers or even for the entire three hours. You can even bike alongside me, if you want to. It’s up to you. What’s important is that I raise funds for Baby Job.

For fixed pledges, you may deposit them to the following:

PS Bank Boni Serrano
Account Name: Ma. Charissa F. Guevara
Account Number: 091-111-00438-8

Please make sure you scan and email your transaction slip and email itmarafguevara@yahoo.com.

For kilometer pledges, please email me (marafguevara@yahoo.com) or text me (0915 937 5899) the following:

Name
Contact number
Email
Pledge per kilometer completed

I will also require a minimum downpayment of Php 150, to be deposited to the above mentioned bank account to ensure your pledge.

You can also pay thru paypal:

Thank you and hoping for your kind consideration!

– Mara

Comments»

1. Mark - March 25, 2011

Congrats! I’m sure Baby Job’s Family is very happy with this. I’m with you all the way, i’ll be running beside you this day, for baby job!

runningforjob - March 25, 2011

Thank you!!!


Leave a Reply

