jump to navigation

Are YOU running for Job? March 30, 2011

Posted by escapingalcatraztri in Run, Runners for Job, Running for Job, Training.
Tags: , , , , ,
trackback

I can’t believe that it’s already been a week since this project was launched. So much has happened since then which I am eternally grateful for. I’ve been getting a lot of questions regarding the run itself, mostly from people who are interested in running with me. As such, I’ve decided to release the details of said run.

On May 15th (Sunday), I plan on running in UP Diliman at around 4:30pm. If I start on time, I will finish running by 7:30pm. That gives me enough time to cool down after, freshen up, have dinner, and sleep early enough for work the following day. The UP Acad Oval is approximately 2.2 kilometers long. If I stick to the oval, I will be doing around ten or so rounds in the three hour time limit I’ve given myself. If I get bored, UP is so huge that there’s lots of streets to run around in. So far, I have a Nike+ iPod Sport Kit which a friend has loaned to me. If you are running with me and you own a Garmin, feel free to use it so we can get the average of the kilometers logged for accuracy. I will be posting my run log to show you how many kilometers I completed to ensure transparency in the collection of pledges. I will not round up the log. So if I finish 23.99 kilometers, I will only count it as 23 finished kilometers. I MIGHT have to change the venue if more people volunteer to run with me. As such, kindly leave a comment if you are interested in being a Runner for Job.

Just a little background on my running “experience”. I was never really a good runner. In fact, a lot of people are surprised that I’m actually running, considering how much I used to hate it. I even lost my first aquathlon because my run split was so slow. Anyway, I started running November of 2010 (just last year). A friend of mine signed me up for the 3k in the Run for Pasig, which was more of a walkathon than a run. HeHe. I joined the Men’s Health Urbanathlon soon after that where I did the 5k. I joined one more 5k race before doing my first 10k a month later at the QCIM. I made a promise to myself at the start of the year that I would finish a 10k by 2010, which is why I really pushed myself at that first 10k. After that, I registered for Condura’s 21k, but I had a terrible bout with rashes/skin asthma and had to cancel. Goodbye, 1k reg fee! 😦 A few weeks later, my friends and I signed up for the Animo Run in Clark. That was my first half marathon and my longest run so far. Boy, that was one tough course! The hills were killer. I’m just glad I survived that one! So anyway, to help you guys out with your pledges and for your reference, I finished that 21k in 2 hours and 34 minutes. For this coming run, I’m hoping to hit 25k or farther.

As you can see, I’m not a very fast runner. So if you do decide to run with me, expect to run an easy pace, especially if you’re a more seasoned runner. Remember that we are running for Baby Job. We’re not after any PR’s or what. We’re simply here to run. Again, thank you and God bless you. Looking forward to running with you. πŸ™‚

Comments»

1. Anonymous - March 30, 2011

I’ll be there. I’m running with you.

2. Anonymous - March 30, 2011

it’s mark btw

3. Leo Diaz - April 2, 2011

my friend and I are planning to run with you…ill see if i can get pledges from my office mates to add up to the funds

runningforjob - April 2, 2011

That’s great, Sir Leo! Thank you so much! πŸ™‚

4. JC Pineda - April 13, 2011

Mar! how do we send our pledges? πŸ˜€ Will also try to go and run with you πŸ™‚

runningforjob - April 13, 2011

Hi, JC! You can deposit your pledge at my bank account or pay via paypal. You’ll find the details on the “help me run for Job” tab

https://runningforjob.wordpress.com/running-for-job/

This would probably be a good taper run for you just in time for IM China. Very easy pace. πŸ™‚ Btw, congrats on the Helix contest! Loved your entry. ;P


Leave a Reply

